Subscribe  Subscribe

2014 Kohl Scholarship Recipients

Michael Cunningham Emily Flottmeyer
Michael Cunningham
Excellence Scholarship recipient
Emily Flottmeyer
Initiative Scholarship recipient

The selection committee for the Herb Kohl Educational Foundation Scholarship and Fellowship Program has announced recipients of the 2014 Herb Kohl Foundation awards for students and teachers. The $1,000 awards are being made to 100 teachers, their schools, and 187 graduating high school students.

Excellence Scholarship recipients have demonstrated excellence In the academic arena and high motivation to achieve, have displayed a broad range of activity and leadership outside the academic setting, and have shown strong promise for succeeding in college and beyond. Fellowship recipients are chosen for their superior ability to inspire a love of learning in their students, their ability to motivate others, and for their leadership and service within and outside the classroom.

Initiative Scholarship recipients, chosen by their schools, have demonstrated exceptional initiative in the classroom and have shown strong promise for succeeding in college and beyond, but have not yet received other academic-based scholarships. "I think it is significant that Wisconsin's students, teachers, and schools are recognized for their devotion to education and learning," said Michael Lancaster, WCRIS president. The Kohl Foundation Scholarship and Fellowship program was established by Herb Kohl, U.S. Senator (Retired) in 1990. To date the foundation has awarded $8.6 million to Wisconsin educators, students and schools. "Education is the key to the future of Wisconsin and our nation. I am very proud of the accomplishments of these students and teachers, and look forward to the great contributions they will make in the future," Kohl said.

Letters notifying recipients of the award were mailed by the Herb Kohl Foundation on March 3, 2014. Regional recognition luncheons honoring the recipients will be held in a few weeks. Following is the list of recognition luncheon dates and locations, and the list of recipients. Herb Kohl will attend all luncheons and present awards to recipients.